Vanity of Vanities, all is Vanity!

Working in the the field case management has it’s ups and downs. Tonight it’s more down than up. I was scheduled to teach a parenting class, and boy was I ultra prepared for once!

I had major points written on the board, handouts copied and ready, pens and snacks, everything was perfectly organized and set up. Not only that, but this was a key lesson, that in my mind at least, had the potential to really change some of the homes of the children I work with.

I patiently sat for thirty minutes past time to start, hoping at least one parent out of the fifty would actually show and hear this fantastically life altering message.

I finally had to conclude that sometimes parents are too busy parenting to take the time to find out how to be better at it. Not everyone will be as inspired as I was when I learned this concept.

I’m disappointed…oh yeah. I was counting on the money I’d make for teaching the class. Now I get paid nada, zero, nil for staying two hours after work, apparently for nothing…pun intended.

A few days ago I was reading Ecclesiastes again, and for the first time in my life, I really agreed with Solomon. Life really is nothing more than Vanity, if you don’t consider the eternal aspects.

Every day I work hard, bringing home barely enough to survive…and that’s with my bachelor’s degree. My tired are bald, I don’t have enough money to do anything about it, and I broke my favorite pair of sandals at work today. Food is hard to buy these days, with two teen boys in the house. The cats and dogs are foraging and eating table scraps, because all money has to go into feeding kids.

And that vacation we wanted to take for the last four years? It’d be a miracle for sure!

Sometimes I feel like a hamster on a wheel. If this was all there was to life, I’d be climbing out. However, this life is like vapor…just a hint of substance passing quickly and disappearing into nothingness. The true substance is eternal, where relationship with Jesus makes it all worth while.1431989317764

Leave a Reply

